Who We Are

Spirit of Rasputin’s Arts Society is an Ontario not-for-profit corporation (#1824745). Our letters patent were issued on August 3, 2010.

Mission Statement

The mission of the Spirit of Rasputin’s Arts Society is to create a home for the Ottawa folk music community where we celebrate and promote folk and folk-related music, provide an opportunity for participatory music, and create a launching pad for developing talent.

Rasputin’s Folk Café was a legendary folk music venue with a 27 year history.  On July 5, 2008 a fire led to the shutdown of the café.  Subsequently, owner Dean Verger decided to retire from the restaurant business, and Rasputin’s Folk Café was closed.

On June 13th, 2009, a meeting of 18 of the Rasputin’s orphans was held, and the Spirit of Rasputin’s was born.  As Chris White, artistic director of the Ottawa Folk Festival noted at the time: “This is an historic day!”

The closure of Rasputin’s Folk Café left a number of gaps in the music community in Ottawa.  The Spirit of Rasputin’s overall goal is to revive the musical traditions of the Folk Café through a volunteer-based organization to support the folk music community of Ottawa.

Our specific objectives are:

  • Provide a physical home for folk events;
  • Promote participation in folk music and generally promote folk music;
  • Support, promote and house the Rasputin’s jams;
  • Develop performers through the open stage;
  • Celebrate folk music by presenting paid performances; and
  • Provide a listening environment for the enjoyment of folk music.

The Spirit of Rasputin’s Board of Directors

Susan Sweeney Herman – a celtic harp musician.

Jill Shipley – a singer/songwriter guitarist

Pat Moore – a singer/songwriter, retired public servant, and impresario.

Hollis Morgan – a musician, audio engineer, and businessman.

Sjef Frenken – a singer/songwriter pianist

Our Current Volunteer Staff

Hollis Morgan – President, Webmaster, Concert Stage Manager
Pat Moore – Vice-president, CKCU Events, Artistic Director
Sue McCarthey – Treasurer
Wen-Jeng Chen – The Next Stage
Isabel Bouchard – Auditor; Hospitality
Sjef Frenken – Open Stage
Paul Spafford – Folk-Along  Jam
Katherine Gunn – Membership, Communications; IT
Heather Evenchick – Ticket Management, Open Stage
Brian Silcoff – Gets the word out (OFME)

and many more…

Join us…

As a volunteer-driven organization, our objective is to engage sufficient volunteer help to ensure that no single person is unfairly burdened by his or her volunteer workload.

If you are interested in participating in any capacity, we’d love to hear from you.